Our history

Past, Present, And Future

Women's ice hockey in Colorado has been rapidly growing since the Colorado Avalanche NHL team first arrived in Denver. Although women's ice hockey has roots in Colorado dating back more than three decades, the interest in becoming a player versus a bystander has increased dramatically.

In November 2000, Beth Gyurovits believed she had an answer to meet the growing interest of women in hockey in the Denver area, and together with a few volunteers, formed the Denver Women's Hockey League.

According to USA Hockey membership data, Girls' / Women's membership continues to experience significant growth. Member statistics from USA Hockey indicate adult female ice hockey participation in the 2019-20 season was 19,030 and 605 of those were in the Colorado which makes us 4th in the nation!


  • November 2000 - Denver Womens Hockey League is formed.
  • January 2001 - DWHL issues first official press release.
  • February 2001 - Bylaws filed with the Secretary of State, officially recognizing the DWHL as a not-for-profit organization.
  • June 2001 - First league play in the Denver Womens Hockey League, comprised of four inaugural teams: Jets, Nordiques, Northstars and Victorias.
  • October 2001 - First fall-winter season for the Denver Womens Hockey League.
  • March 2002 - The McNeish cup is awarded to the Jets for first place in the league.
  • June 2002 - Denver Womens Hockey League adds a new team, Bombers, to the league.
  • October 2002 - Intermediate and Novice divisions are created and the league expands to 7 teams, 3 Intermediate and 4 Novice. Aces team added to the Intermediate division.
  • March 2003 - The McNeish cup is awarded to the Nordiques for first place in the Novice division and The Crowley cup is awarded to the Aces for first place in the Intermediate division.
  • June 2003 - Intermediate division expands to 4 teams with the addition of the Metros team.
  • August 2003 - DWHL forms a competitive team in the WACH - Women's Association of Colorado Hockey, B1 Division - DWHL Spitfires.
  • August 2004 - DWHL becomes a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation.
  • September 2004 - The DWHL hosts the first Mile Hi Mountain Matchup and hosts teams from Colorado and around the United States.
  • Fall 2005 - DWHL WACH teams expand to a B1 and B2 team with the B2 Sptifires and the B1 Renegades.
  • Fall 2007 - The DWHL adds another WACH B2 Team – the Firebirds.  All WACH Team names are based on defunct hockey teams as well as WWII Fighter Planes.  As their first team activity, the Firebirds volunteer for the day at Children’s Hospital.
  • Spring 2009 - The Spitfires and Firebirds meet in the championship game for the WACH B2 State Title to battle for the WACH Isobel Cup. The Spitfires win a close game to become the 2008-2009 WACH B2 champions
  • Fall 2009 - The BelaHockey Granato Cup is donated to the DWHL by Bela Hockey and the Nordiques become the first champions to receive the cup.
  • Spring 2010 - The Royals win the BelaHockey Granato Cup for the Spring 2010 Season.
  • Today - The DWHL continues to support WACH Teams, tournament teams, and has a 3 season in-house division that is host to well over 100 players over the course of the year.
    All of this is made possible by the dedication of our members, volunteers, coaches, families, and friends.

Subs Only


Contact Us

New Players

So, you want to learn how to play hockey, eh? Well, you have come to the right place! Take a look at some common resources to get all of the information you need to get started playing hockey with us.

About Us

Ever wonder about the DWHL's mission? How about what exactly we can / strive to offer to our members?

Or, are you just interested in learning about how we got started & got to where we are now?



We've heard a lot of them over the years.

Here are some responses to those which are frequently asked!